CERTIFICATION OF ENROLLMENT

ENGROSSED SENATE BILL 5135

Chapter 26, Laws of 2009

61st Legislature 2009 Regular Session

DISTRICT COURT JUDGES--KING AND SPOKANE COUNTIES

EFFECTIVE DATE: 07/26/09

Passed by the Senate February 26, 2009 YEAS 46 NAYS 1

BRAD OWEN

President of the Senate

Passed by the House March 30, 2009 YEAS 96 NAYS 1

FRANK CHOPP

Speaker of the House of Representatives

Approved April 8, 2009, 3:32 p.m.

CERTIFICATE

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate of the State of Washington, do hereby certify that the attached is **ENGROSSED SENATE BILL 5135** as passed by the Senate and the House of Representatives on the dates hereon set forth.

THOMAS HOEMANN

Secretary

FILED

April 9, 2009

CHRISTINE GREGOIRE

Governor of the State of Washington

Secretary of State State of Washington

ENGROSSED SENATE BILL 5135

Passed Legislature - 2009 Regular Session

State of Washington

Senators Kline, Tom, McDermott, and Kohl-Welles; by request of Board For Judicial Administration

61st Legislature

Read first time 01/14/09. Referred to Committee on Judiciary.

- AN ACT Relating to the number of district court judges in King 1 2 county and Spokane county; and amending RCW 3.34.010.
- BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON: 3
- Sec. 1. RCW 3.34.010 and 2008 c 63 s 1 are each amended to read as 4 5 follows:
- The number of district judges to be elected in each county shall 6
- 7 be: Adams, two; Asotin, one; Benton, three; Chelan, two; Clallam, two;
- 8 Clark, six; Columbia, one; Cowlitz, three; Douglas, one; Ferry, one;
- Franklin, one; Garfield, one; Grant, two; Grays Harbor, two; Island, 9
- 10 one; Jefferson, one; King, ((twenty-one)) twenty-three in 2009, twenty-
- five in 2010, and twenty-six in 2011; Kitsap, four; Kittitas, two; 11
- 12 Klickitat, two; Lewis, two; Lincoln, one; Mason, one; Okanogan, two;
- Pacific, two; Pend Oreille, one; Pierce, eleven; San Juan, one; Skagit, 13
- two; Skamania, one; Snohomish, eight; Spokane, ((ten)) eight; Stevens, 14
- 15 one; Thurston, three; Wahkiakum, one; Walla Walla, two; Whatcom, two;
- 16 Whitman, one; Yakima, four. This number may be increased only as
- 17 provided in RCW 3.34.020.

Passed by the Senate February 26, 2009.

Passed by the House March 30, 2009.

Approved by the Governor April 8, 2009.

Filed in Office of Secretary of State April 9, 2009.

2009 Regular Session